Why You Should Act (in social media) Like The Top 0.5%?

9 07 2013

Since Sept 6, 2012, I have been a fully engaged power user in LinkedIn, Twitter and WordPress.  Having posted hundreds of updates on LinkedIn, tweeted 1500+ tweets and written 53 blog posts, I was asked two questions last night:

social-media-guru

  1. Why are you doing this?
  2. Are you getting anything out of your efforts?

I knew I had his attention for about 15 seconds yet my answer was much longer than that.  As a point of reference, out of the five men sitting around the small table having a discussion, three of them read my work regularly.  That’s 60%!  (including me….see how numbers can play tricks on perception?)  I started to answer him but tailed off as he drifted to another conversation.  So I challenged myself to introduce the question and answer it over the next 325 words. (I try to keep my posts below 500 words…now I only have 297 words left). 

Why am I doing this? (And why you should be inspired to do it as well)

  • Thought Leader:

I want to be more than a legend in my own mind!  I need credibility.  My consistent presence and quality content will do just that.  If it is truly “good stuff” (you will be the judge of that), I will be looked at as the thought leader I wish to become.

  •  Value Generator to enhance my company’s image to clients and prospects:

We are reminded constantly that without value, we have no chance for business continuity.  CEOs and “C” level executives want to be engaged and I refuse to be considered a “vendor” to our client-partners.  Intellectual discussions about business challenges (coupled with solutions) bring the value for which I envision.  My presence on the web addressing critical Eye-Cubed issues reinforces the value added.

  • I’m more than an “owner”or SVP of PFP:

I have had a plethora of experiences since 1996.  However, keeping the lessons within my company limits the audience.  Others can gain perspective from my path.   Through speaking, writing and consulting, I can build my impact and influence. 

Am I getting results? (What is in it for you too?)

  • Thought Leader:

New opportunities have been uncovered as my reputation builds. 

  1. Radio Interview on implementing change. 
  2. Corporate Briefing interview on Collaboration with a strategic partner. 
  3. Speaking engagements to industry leaders on succession, growth and innovation
  • Value Generator:

At a high level meeting with one of our top three clients, a senior executive introduced herself to me and said: “Yes, we have connected on LinkedIn.  I read your blog.  It is good.  I get a lot of stuff thrown my way but I like your work.  I read it.”  We then talked about strategy and the future.  They wanted to know how PFP can help them reach their goals as an organization.

I went into this project with a long-term view and did not expect to have such measurable results so soon.  Businesses are evolving and the Eye-Cubed leadership needed to excel could not be more pronounced.  With the goal of continuing to add value every day, Eye push forward!  The results speak for themselves.

Actions

Information

4 responses

16 07 2013
thecoachlee

Social media allows you to just be valuable to your target audience, centers of influence and strategic alliances.This means you must know who those people are in general; what are they seeking; and if you are hitting the relevant content. Beyond the element of time to post, read and respond, social media is 100% free marketing. Of course, even free doesn’t work if your social media marketing efforts go unnoticed.

18 08 2013
Social media puts you in a different class : Partner–not vendor

[…] Kevin McKeown (@kevinmckeown) shared an article with me this morning by Attorney and business owner, David Sussman (@Suss33), on why it is so valuable to be a fully engaged power user of blogging, LinkedIn, and Twitter. […]

8 11 2013
Social media puts you in a different class : Partner–not vendor | Real Lawyers Have Blogs

[…] Kevin McKeown (@kevinmckeown) shared an article with me this morning by Attorney and business owner, David Sussman (@Suss33), on why it is so valuable to be a fully engaged power user of blogging, LinkedIn, and Twitter. […]

12 11 2013
Social media puts you in a different class : Partner–not vendor

[…] with me this morning by Attorney and business owner, David Sussman (@Suss33), on why it is so valuable to be a fully engaged power user of blogging, LinkedIn, and Twitter. Sussman was challenged by fellow business associates as to why he was spending so much time on […]

Leave a Reply

