Are You In The Moment?

29 09 2012

It was a perfect day for a cross country event.  The temperature was 73 degrees and the sky was overcast.  The Invitational took place in Cheshire CT, one hour from our home.  The Varsity boys meet began at 3:30 pm.  We left with just enough time to get there and see the start.  We were excited.

We parked our car at 3:27 and had 1/2 mile to walk/run to get to the start/finish line.  I chose to run.  As I jogged, feeling appropriately out of shape, I heard the scream of the crowd.  I figured the girls must have been running and were finishing right about then.  When I saw a boy run in the distance, I was hoping it was the Junior Varsity.  Then I saw how fast they were running and I feared that I was missing the end of the Varsity event.  The event that I traveled for.  The event were I was hoping to see my son.  Unfortunately, the Invitational began one hour earlier than indicated online.  I missed the start of the boys Varsity race by 20 minutes.

Then, through the crowd lining the course,  I saw him.

He was 30 yards from the finish line, with the strain of 3.2 miles on his face.  He was sprinting, just in front of his closest competitor.  He pushed through the finish line and immediately collapsed with clear pride of having given it his all.  I saw three seconds of his race.  I had three seconds to take it all in.  I had no time to think, no time for drama, no time to waste.

I was in the moment.

How often are you in the moment during your work day?  How often do you miss something critical because you are stressed about a distracting issue or focused on something less important?  Even the Mayo Clinic urges that spending more time “in the moment” assists individuals with stress management.  Are you really giving 100% all the time?  What will you see if you are in the moment more often?  I can only imaging that your “vision” will be greatly improved.

For you and your company to be an I Cubed (Inspiration. Innovation. Implementation) company, you and your leaders need to be in the moment.  Great things happen when you are there.

  • Michael Jordan had to be in the moment when he hit the final shot as time ran out against the Utah Jazz in game six of the NBA Finals.
  • Michael Phelps had to be in the moment 19 times as he became the most decorated Olympian of all time.  Most of his events lasted less than 60 seconds.

Writers and motivational speakers often refer to this important quality and have been for hundreds of years.  Maya Angelou said it well when she said “Be present in all things and thankful for all things.”

Are you in the moment right now?

If you, your company, your industry conference or team is in need of the best keynote speaker, motivational management consultant, or inspirational presenter for your conference, strategic planning meeting or for professional development, click on these words and see how Eye-Cubed-U is prepared to help you. 

Actions

Information

5 responses

30 09 2012
markkolier

Great post David. I think about being in the moment all the time and your story crystallized the value of what can be gained.

3 10 2012
David Sussman

Stay “in it” and great things are sure to come. Thank you for your comment.

2 10 2012
Tom Hillier

I want to write a long and well-researched reply to your post that will shed new light on your insights. Unfortunately I am too busy keeping clients happy to focus on this right now. If only I could be more ‘in the moment’…

3 10 2012
David Sussman

Thank you for your thoughts. Keeping clients happy is certainly where your focus should be. If you have some “down” time and want to leave that well researched reply, I welcome it! Looking forward to more.

25 12 2012
sean

Nice story
Short or long, the moment is what we live for, not checking off the next thing on our list.
Happy Holidays
Sean

Leave a Reply

